Water Services Board (WSB)

As a result of sector reforms, responsibility for water and sanitation service provision has been devolved to eight regional Water Services Boards (WSBs): Athi (which serves the capital Nairobi), Coast, Tana, Lake Victoria North, Lake Victoria South, Northern, Rift Valley Water Services Board, and since 2008, Tanathi Water Services Board. Water Services Boards are responsible for asset management, which is, for the development and rehabilitation of water and sewerage facilities, for investment planning and implementation.

(Source: USAID; http://pdf.usaid.gov/pdf_docs/PNADO931.pdf)